In the beginning……

Leave a comment

September 4, 2012 by NowChangeYourLife

My quest began from the shores of Ireland, a fair country, but I was a stranger there. England held no allure. As is the English temperament, I set off in my small skiff to find the fabled Isles of The Blessed, Elysium. I had few markers except a  good heart, a bold nature and perhaps a dream of finding a home where I could at last rest from my wanderings.  After many trials, too numerous to mention (and a siren best forgotten) I sighted smoke. I had read of Mt Toba in my Encyclopedia Geographica…It says this briefly:

The Toba supereruption (Youngest Toba Tuff or simply YTT[1]) was a supervolcaniceruption that is believed to have occurred some time between 69,000 and 77,000 years ago at Lake Toba (Sumatra, Indonesia). It is recognized as one of the Earth‘s largest known eruptions. The related catastrophe hypothesis holds that this event plunged the planet into a 6-to-10-year volcanic winter and possibly an additional 1,000-year cooling episode. This change in temperature is hypothesized to have resulted in the world’s human population being reduced to 10,000 or even a mere 1,000 breeding pairs, creating a bottleneck in human evolution.

Not daunted by this world killer I sailed on. I had heard that Elysium was protected, so the volcano did not surprise me. In my British manner I told myself “It’s only a volcano” I would sail around it. Then I sighted land. My journey had taken 47 days. I secured the skiff at a small dock, raised the flag and lit a fire. Toba grumbled behind me. Here is a pic:

Elysium?

I was weary so I layed by the fire and dreamt a dreamless sleep. My thoughts drifted…was this the fabled isles created by the gods where heroes were reborn? Had I reached my journeys end? Could I at last find peace…….

I awoke just after dawn and despite Toba’s intermittant roars I felt wonderfully rested. I began the day with such high spirits….I felt alive!!! I wasn’t hungry or thirsty which was very strange. The air was ennervating!

I looked around. I was stunned. A white yacht was moored close to me. There was a house but such a house! It looked Italian with its tiled roof and stone walls. There were palms and a waterfall….high cliffs surrounded the isle. This was somebodys home, I dare not trespass, yet it seemed to be empty…I would explore!!! Here is a pic of what I saw:

First look at this new island

I wandered up to the house perhaps someone was home? It was magnificent. There was a fearsome looking beast guarding the entry. The gate was locked. I could hear bird song and the splashing of water. A brightly coloured parrot flew around. Then another parrot came and sat on my sholder occasionally looking at me quizzically. Ha! A friend already! I named him JD after a pirate I had crossed swords with. Here is a pic:

The House

The house was so beautiful, the trees gently swaying in the light breeze. Who could own such a palace  in the middle of nowhere? Who owned the beautiful white yacht, where was the captain? Then I noticed there was a light surrounding me, it had appeared this morning it seemed ..no it could not be…it seemed to be emanating from me!!! I wandered on towards a cry I had heard before but could not place…..

Peacocks! Two blue ones and a white one. I stood very still not wanting to frighten them. They completely ignored me as if i belonged here? Very strange. I was about to move on when the white one spread her wings. I  was struck dumb! I  pulled out my camera to take another pic. I succeded!

White Peacock

Where was I? What was this paradise? Who owned it? Is this Elysium?

I would explore more! I wandered straight ahead to the waterfall, More surprises, ridiculous surprises, two white swans,,,on a tropical island,,,I rubbed my eyes, yes they were still there, it was tho some god or godess or magician had conjured the beautiful things from our planet and placed them here,, Yes of course I took a picture! When I get home (whenever that would be,,,my own island perhaps? Like this? The thought of another sea voyage was daunting) when I get “home” I would have proof that a paradise existed, not for mortals perhaps, I took a pic,

I moved to my rightI saw something…A statue? Yes a statue of THE BUDDHA! What was He doing here I thought. It was a genuine statue too not some cheap plaster fake. There was a green ball at my feet I looked down to read the writing Tai something? I leaned closer and touched it. Some force took a hold of me, moving me. My shorts vanished and and and I was dressed in a kimono!?!?!? I had swords! Two of them, one at my waist the other on my back. I had become a samurai!  I was moving so gracefully, I had no control, I was dancing. No not dancing..o my god it was Tai Chi! I had watched the chinese in Hong Kong (British colony in those days) I was doing Tai Chi dressed as a Samurai in front of the Buddha …I watched, I was transported. I had lived in Japan, these were katana proper warrior swords. I looked closely, silktop, the hakama (skirt to those less well informed) looked like fine cotton. on my  feet I had zouri, warrior class sandles, not peasant sandles, these were laqured. The attention to detail astounded me.Don’t believe me? Look at this:

Samurai Buddhist Tai Chi

I did nothing. I thought nothing. My mind rested in a calm I had never really known. My half closed eyes could see the Buddha, the waterfall. There was no sound except the rushing falling of water. The faint peacock cry reminded me of beauty, I too was beautiful. I felt…no I didn’t feel I was empty……my eyes closed everything faded into stillness, there was no time, I had transcended time. I was at peace.

When I came back, how long had it been? Hours? Days? I had no idea. I was floating in front of the Buddha. It was night. I was floating. I WAS FLOATING! About two feet above the ground. Of course I recorded such a phenomenon.

Floating

»

Leave a Reply

